Training Program
in Neurodevelopmental Disabilities

Program Mentors

  • Michael B. Robinson, PhD Michael B. Robinson, PhD Program Director
    Professor of Pediatrics and Pharmacology
    Research Interests: Sodium dependent excitatory amino acid transporters
    robinsonm@mail.med.upenn.edu
    215-590-2205
  • Stewart Anderson, MD Stewart Anderson, MD Associate Professor of Psychiatry
    Research Interests: Molecular and cellular development of the mammalian forebrain
    sande@mail.med.upenn.edu
    215-590-6527
  • Gordon Barr, PhD Gordon Barr, PhD Associate Professor of Psychology in Anesthesiology and Critical Care
    Research Interests: Environmental effects on developing nervous system
    barrg@email.chop.edu
    267-426-9722
  • Seema Bhatagnar, PhD Seema Bhatagnar, PhD Associate Professor of Anesthesiology and Critical Care
    Research Interests: Neural mechanisms related to chronic stress exposure
    bhatagnar@email.chop.edu
    267-426-0951
  • Edward (Ted) Brodkin, MD< Edward (Ted) Brodkin, MD Associate Professor of Psychiatry
    Research Interests: Uses methods of genetics and genomics to dissect the neurobiological pathways mediating social behaviors, including aggression and sociability
    ebrodkin@mail.med.upenn.edu
    215-746-0118
  • Anjan Chatterjee, MD Anjan Chatterjee, MD Frank A. and Gwladys H. Elliott Professor and Chair of Neurology
    Research Interests: Cognitive Imaging
    anjan@mail.med.upenn.edu
    215-662-4265
  • Akiva Cohen, PhD Akiva Cohen, PhD Research Associate Professor of Pediatrics
    Research Interests: Cellular and circuit mechanisms of traumatic brain injury
    cohena@email.chop.edu
    215-590-1472
  • Douglas A. Coulter, PhD Douglas A. Coulter, PhD Professor of Pediatrics
    Research Interests: Cellular and molecular mechanisms underlying epilepsy
    coulterd@email.chop.edu
    215-590-1937
  • Beverly Davidson, PhD Beverly Davidson, PhD Arthur V. Meigs Chair in Pediatrics
    Research Interests:
    davidsonbl@email.chop.edu
    267-426-0929
  • John A. Detre, MD John A. Detre, MD Professor of Neurology and Radiology
    Research Interests: Clinical applications of functional MRI
    detre@mail.med.upenn.edu
    215-349-8465
  • Amelia Eisch, PhD Scientist, Anesthesiology and Critical Care Medicine
    Research Interests: Developmental and adult neurogenesis and dentate gyrus plasticity’s contribution to abnormal functioning
    eischa@email.chop.edu
    215-590-1931
  • Beverly S. Emanuel, PhD Beverly S. Emanuel, PhD Charles E.H. Upham Professor of Pediatrics
    Research Interests: Velocardiofacial syndrome, mapping of chromosome 22
    emanuel@email.chop.edu
    215-590-3856
  • Marni Falk, MD Marni Falk, MD Associate Professor of Pediatrics
    Research Interests: Genetic etiologies to primary mitochondrial disease across the age spectrum, and wide range of disorders that involve secondary mitochondrial dysfunction
    falkm@email.chop.edu
    215-590-2920
  • Martha Farah, PhD Martha Farah, PhD Walter H. Annenberg Professor of Natural Sciences
    Research Interests: Neurocognitive development- language and vision
    mfarah@psych.upenn.edu
    215-573-3531
  • Judith B. Grinspan, PhD Judith B. Grinspan, PhD Research Professor of Neurology
    Research Interests: Oligodendrocyte development and myelination in the CNS
    grinspan@email.chop.edu
    215-590-2094
  • Hakon Hakonarson, MD, PhD Hakon Hakonarson, MD, PhD Associate Professor of Pediatrics
    Research Interests: Genetic factors that underlie complex medical disorders
    hakonarson@email.chop.edu
    267-426-0088
  • Harry Ischiropoulos, PhD Harry Ischiropoulos, PhD Research Professor of Pediatrics
    Research Interests: Nitrosylation and brain function
    ischirop@mail.med.upenn.edu
    215-590-5320
  • Robert Kalb, MD Robert Kalb, MD Professor of Neurology
    Research Interests: Synaptic activity between neurons
    kalb@email.chop.edu
    215-590-0691
  • Ian Krantz, MD Ian Krantz, MD Professor of Pediatrics
    Research Interests: Molecular basis for human birth defects, Cornelia de Lange syndrome (CdLS)
    krantz@email.chop.edu
    215-590-2930
  • Daniel Licht, MD Daniel Licht, MD Associate Professor of Neurology and Pediatrics
    Research Interests: Influence of congenital heart defects on fetal brain development
    licht@email.chop.edu
    267-426-5025
  • David R. Lynch, MD, PhD David R. Lynch, MD, PhD Professor of Neurology
    Research Interests: NMDA receptors and excitotoxicity
    lynchd@mail.med.upenn.edu
    215-590-2242
  • Eric Marsh, MD, PhD Eric Marsh, MD, PhD Assistant Professor of Neurology
    Research Interests: Interneuron development, epilepsy models, intracranial EEG recordings, electrophysiology
    marshe@email.chop.edu
    215-590-5654
  • Timothy P. Roberts, PhD Timothy P. Roberts, PhD Vice Chair of Research in Radiology and Professor of Radiology
    Research Interests: Functional neuroimaging
    robertstim@email.chop.edu
    267-426-0384
  • Robert T. Schultz, PhD Robert T. Schultz, PhD Professor of Clinical Psychology in Pediatrics
    Research Interests: Cognitive neuroscience and autism research
    schultzrt@email.chop.edu
    267-426-7540
  • Rita Valentino, PhD Rita Valentino, PhD Research Professor of Anesthesiology and Critical Care
    Research Interests: Biology of stress
    rjv@mail.med.upenn.edu
    215-590-0650
  • Douglas Wallace, PhD Douglas Wallace, PhD Michael and Charles Barnett Chair of Pediatric Mitochondrial Medicine and Metabolic Disease
    Research Interests: Mitochondrial inborn errors in metabolism
    wallaced1@email.chop.edu
    267-425-3034
  • John H. Wolfe, VMD, PhD John H. Wolfe, VMD, PhD Professor of Pathology and Medical Genetics in Pediatrics
    Research Interests: Lysosomal genetic disorders that affect the brain
    jhwolfe@vet.upenn.edu
    215-590-7028
  • Zhaolan (Joe) Zhou, PhD Zhaolan (Joe) Zhou, PhD Associate Professor of Genetics
    Research Interests: Understanding how epigenetic principles integrate environmental factors with genetic code to govern brain development and function, and how defects in this process may lead to neurological diseases
    zhaolan@mail.med.upenn.edu
    215-746-5025